View all Dogs for Adoption

Poppy D190466

Australian Kelpie (medium coat) / Female / Adult

Details about Poppy D190466

  • ID D190466
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Golden/Chestnut
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Poppy D190466

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Poppy
Age: DOB Approx. 9/19/17
Gender: Female
Breed:  Kelpie
Weight: 45
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: TBD
Kid friendly: Yes
House Trained: Doing Well
Crate Trained: Yes
Energy level: Moderate
History: Pulled from an animal control  
Adoption Fee: $450.00 

 

From the Foster:

Poppy is the sweetest little dog there is. She will come up to you wagging her butt she’s so excited, and then roll over for a belly rub. She does however take a little time to trust and come out of her shell. She is GREAT with our other dog and he gives her extra confidence. 
 
She is easily scared and is learning to trust again. She enjoys being around people and our dog but if she thinks “she’s in trouble” or something scares her she runs to hide. We have taken her for short walks and she is not the best on a leash but mainly because she is scared of cars and loud noises outside. She “pancakes” when scared and needs encouragement that she is ok. 
 
Inside the house, her confidence grows by the second. She was scared to go up the stairs but now she runs up and down them as fast as she can and waits for somebody to come tell her how good she’s doing! 
 
Her favorite thing in the world is a belly rub, but she enjoys chew toys too. She is pretty quick to destroy a stuffed animal but she likes the challenge. She is learning what she can and can’t have in the house, as she has tried to sneak off with a shoe a few times.
 
As far as potty training, she is doing okay but is not fully potty trained. The first week she did not go in the house, but when she started to get some free reign she had a few accidents. So we have been regularly working to get her on a routine.
 
Overall she is a very sweet little girl who just needs to know she’s safe, and cared for. She would do best with another dog in the household as she gains confidence being around another dog. Otherwise just some owners who will work with her on her confidence. She is getting better about going into a crate at night but once in, she has no problem! She just doesn’t always want to go to bed when it’s her bed time.