View all Dogs for Adoption

Clairee D182085

Hound / Mixed (short coat) / Female / Young

Details about Clairee D182085

  • ID D182085
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Black with White
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: Women Only
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Clairee D182085

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Clairee
Age: 11 months on 3/15/19
Gender: Female
Breed: Hound mix
Weight: 37 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes, would prefer a home with a canine buddy!
Cat friendly: TBD
Kid friendly: Yes, would prefer older children, if any at all
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: Yes
Energy level: Puppy!
History: From a shelter in Arkansas
Adoption Fee: $400

 

From the Foster:

From the Foster:

Clairee is a very sweet girl who is in need of a patient forever home. Unsure of her previous living conditions, she came to us completely shut down, and refused to move from her kennel - for weeks! Everything, and everyone around her made her nervous. While we have only scratched the surface, with a lot of patience, and hot dogs, she is turning into a silly, and playful dog who loves to pause playtime to come over for a quick scratch. She is still overcoming her fear of noises, and new people, and while she gets along well with our two small children, we believe she would be better suited with older more respectable children. She gets along GREAT with our two dogs, especially our Jack Russell mix who has the same puppy energy as Clairee, so a forever home with a fur brother or sister is ideal. 

In the short time that we have had her, she has made tremendous progress. Clairee is still learning basic training, and how to be comfortable on a leash. For now, she is enjoying running, and exploring our fenced in backyard with our dogs. Even though she takes time to warm up to you, she enjoys to be around dogs and people most, so someone who is home a lot would be best. 

Clairee has recently been placed on a medication to help with her anxiety, and with proper training and time, we are hoping she will call her nerves enough to be taken off at some point.
A home would be preferred without males around, as her fears are unknown, and still very present when it comes to the opposite sex in humans. A male with a lot of patience and a quiet demeanor may help however." 

"I was recently treated for  heartworms , and I am feeling much better now! Please let SHH know if you have any questions!"