View all Dogs for Adoption

Hilary D181937

Maltese / Yorkshire Terrier Yorkie / Mixed (medium coat) / Female / Senior

Details about Hilary D181937

  • ID D181937
  • Adopted for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Tan
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Hilary D181937

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Hilary
Age: 10 years
Gender: Female
Breed: Morkie
Weight: 12 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Yes
Kid friendly: Older considerate children only
House Trained: TBD
Crate Trained: No, but does great without
Energy level: Moderate
History: Owner surrender from Texas
Adoption Fee: $300

 

From the Foster:

Hi! My name is Hilary – my foster family calls me Muppet - because when I shake my head, all my hair stands up and I look like a muppet! I am approximately 10 years. I used to live in Texas, but my owner passed away and I moved up to Minnesota.

 

If you are looking for a snuggle buddy, someone who will keep you company while you watch TV or sleep – we should meet! I love my humans and am not fond of when they leave. But once I know the routine, I am very easy going. I do not like to be crated, but I do well left out and I do not get into any trouble. I sleep with my foster mom every night and I would like to do this in my new home too. I do need steps to get up and down from the bed and couches (I just can’t jump like I used to).

 

I get along with other dogs my size or smaller. I currently live with Pomeranians and Chihuahuas. I haven’t really met any bigger dogs so I’m not sure how I would feel. I would love to have a sister or brother in my new home, but that is not required. I also get along great with cats too. My foster family has 3 and I ignore them - but I have tried to eat their food a couple of times!

 

I not used to these Minnesota winters, so I sometimes don’t want to potty outside. No worries though, I am potty pad trained for these occasions! Being an older gal, I also have to potty occasionally during the middle of the night or when my foster mom goes to work, so she leaves a potty pad for me during these times. When the weather is decent and we can go outside, I don’t like to potty alone, I really want you to stay with me! Once I know which door lets me outside, I will go stand by it if I have to potty.

 

I’m good on a leash and really like to smell new things. I don’t really play with toys – but I really like blankets and treats!

 

My new family needs to know two things about me. One - I'm hard of hearing. Two - I have Addison’s disease. This means I have a lower than normal production of cortisol. This also means if I’m stressed or overly excited my body cannot produce the required amount of cortisol to deal with it. I’m currently taking a low dose of prednisone every day to help me. I will need to stay on this for the rest of my life. I will also need regular blood work run to make sure the amount of prednisone I’m taking matches my body’s needs. This is also why a house with no children or older children would be a better fit for me – young children make me nervous.

 

I am really excited to find my new home, if you think we would be a good match, please submit an application! I really excited to meet you!