View all Dogs for Adoption

Poesi D180902

Australian Cattle Dog/Blue Heeler / Terrier / Mixed (short coat) / Female / Adult

Details about Poesi D180902

  • ID D180902
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Red/Golden/Orange/Chestnut with White
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Poesi D180902

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only

Name: Poesi
Age: 2.5 years
Gender: Female
Breed: Australian Cattle Dog / Terrier
Weight: 20 lbs
Dog friendly: Yes, would do best with another 
Cat friendly: TBD
Kid friendly: TBD
House Trained: Yes
Crate Trained: TBD
Energy level: Moderate
History: From a shelter in Texas
Adoption Fee: $350

 

From the Foster:

Hello! My name is Poesi and I am looking for a special forever home. I want to be a great pet and friend, but I need some encouragement!

Here is my story...

I arrived in Minnesota with my 4 puppies in May, 2018.  And I was afraid of everything.  I did not know how to be a dog. I did not want to be touched. I did not want to be with people. I did not want to go outside. I did not leave my crate for 2 weeks.  I would not eat, pee, poo or move if people or my foster pups were around. I would not even eat hot dogs tossed to me, if people were around! And don't even get me started on my leash concerns! That was the most frightening thing I had ever experienced.  For 5 months, I would rather hang myself on the leash, rather than try to walk with it! Because of all of this, I did not leave my foster's house until October.  (Fortunately, I was and am very good with potty pads.)

My foster family have a big dog and a small dog. They were both very nice, calm and friendly. Slowly, slowly I began to trust.  I would venture out of my crate.  I would take treats from a hand (chicken and hot dogs!).  I learned to eat at breakfast and dinner with the other dogs.  I would let my people touch me. My foster family let me learn at my own pace. They pushed a little, but backed off when I was afraid.

Then came a break through!  I was allowed to go to Arizona with my foster family for almost 8 weeks.  It was there I learned to go outside to do my business, because the door was always open and the yard was fenced.  I started sleeping at the foot of the bed, because I could easily get away if I ever had to!   I started to love going on walks, because I was on a dog stroller. For me, it was a crate on wheels.  I felt so comfortable in there!  Finally, I started walking on a leash.  My family would push my stroller right in front of me and I would walk to get to my stroller!

Now, I walk 2 miles on a leash.  Things still startle me and when that happens I just hunch down until my people tell me it is all OK.   I love to cuddle up on the couch next to you, but I have to be able to leave if I want to.  I sometimes leave and then want to come right back.   I eat twice with my people right next to me, just like my foster brother and sister.  I have learned my name.  I know some commands (we call them 'asks", because I get too scared with commands). I am not house trained, because when I came back to MN it was way too cold!  But I always use my potty pads.

My ideal forever family will have the patience and experience to help finish my journey to being a great pet and friend. I need encouragement to train me. Another dog in the house would be great for me. I love to play with other dogs and I trust them.  A fenced in yard would be a plus, but I am getting used to the leash.  I think I will be potty trained, but this would be easier if I had a fenced yard (which my fosters do not have), because then I would not have to worry about the leash. Little kids scare me, because they are unpredictable. Anything sudden scares me! When I get scared, I like to be bale to get away.  I have never showed any aggressive tendencies.

I’m about 2-3 years old and only weigh about 20 pounds, so I don’t eat too much. My foster family lets me sleep in the bed. Ten months ago the was way too scary. Now I like the warmth and comfort, but a nice dog bed will work too.  I was crate trained, but I don't need a crate at all any more.  I stay by my family all the time.  I am follow them around the house.  Oh, and I love treats!

Let’s be honest. If you are looking for a cuddly new puppy, I am not a good fit. If you looking for a loyal friend who is still learning all the ins and outs of being a happy, confident dog, I’ve got that covered.  being a family pet is way better than I ever imagined!!