View all Dogs for Adoption

Benedict *Blind* D161502

Poodle (Miniature) (short coat) / Male / Senior

Details about Benedict *Blind* D161502

  • ID D161502
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • White
  • Coatlength: Short
  • Activity Level: Low
  • Shedding: None
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: Yes
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Benedict *Blind* D161502

  • Energy Level: Low
  • Yard Required: No
  • Fence: Not Required
  • Obedience Training: Has Basic Training

Name: Benedict
Age: Approximately 10-12 years
Gender: Male
Breed: Miniature Poodle
Weight: 14 pounds
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: Yes
Kid friendly: Yes - Older, respectful kids please
House trained: In progress
Crate trained: No, doesn't need to be
Energy level: Low/Moderate
History: From MO
Adoption Fee: $250

From the Foster:  

Hello and thanks for taking the time to read my profile. My name is Benedict, but I answer to Ben, Benny or Bennis. I have been blind now for about a year; I had a damaged eye and the other was removed due to glaucoma. I make my way around the house fairly well though; I can even go outside and come back inside with very little assistance!

Though I’m blind, I still like to go on walks; I’m just a bit slower because I must sniff everything. I live with another dog and a cat, I don’t mind them (and they don’t mind me) but I prefer the people in the house. I like to sit next to foster dad at every opportunity. I prefer dad to mom, but mom is nice and brushes me, which I enjoy and will even roll on my back so she can brush my belly. When they leave the house, I go in my pet playpen and sleep on my soft bed, but I don’t like being penned when everyone’s home and moving about. I also don’t like crates or even being baby gated in my own room. I like my playpen the best.
I know how to potty outside; sometimes I will subtly signal to go outside, sometimes I don’t. It all depends on my mood and the activity (it is best if I go out right after any meal). I’m only able to hold it for a few hours so foster mom and dad say my forever people must be home more than they are away.
I enjoy eating apples, pears, green beans, broccoli and some popcorn. These folks don’t have kids, however they say only older respectful kids for me (I do like to snuggle with gentle kids).
Signing off for now, thanks again for reading,
Benedict