View all Dogs for Adoption

Akoya D160730

Labrador Retriever (medium coat) / Female / Adult

Details about Akoya D160730

  • ID D160730
  • Available for Adoption
  • Dog
  • Black
  • Coatlength: Medium
  • Activity Level: Moderate
  • Grooming Needs: Low
  • Shedding: Moderate
  • Good with Dogs: Yes
  • Good with Cats: No
  • Good with Adults: All
  • Reaction to New People: Friendly

More about Akoya D160730

  • Energy Level: Moderate
  • Yard Required: Yes
  • Fence: Not Required
  • Indoor/Outdoor: Indoor Only
  • Obedience Training: Has Basic Training

Name: Akoya 
Age: Approximate DOB 11/18/14
Gender: Female
Breed: Labrador Retriever
Weight: 60 pounds
Dog friendly: Yes
Cat friendly: No
Kid friendly: Yes 
House trained: Yes
Crate trained: Yes
Energy level: Average
History: Came to rescue pregnant and injured
Adoption Fee: $300

From the Foster:

Hi! I’m Akoya, or just Koya as my foster family calls me.

 

I’m told that I’m a total sweetie once you get to know me.  I do get a little nervous when I meet new people and sometimes I will bark and growl at them, so upon first glance, I may not seem like the sweet girl that I am, but once you get to know me you’ll fall in love for sure! I love to lay on the couch with my foster family, watch the squirrels, and chew on rawhides. I’m a great sleeper and currently sleep at the end of my foster mom’s bed. 

 

When I'm on walks - I do best with a gentle leader.  I'm a big girl and I like to check things out and that might mean pulling...  But the gentle leader helps with that.  I don't love meeting other dogs on a leash - just like with new people I can get reactive with barking and growling.  So walking in a super populated dog area wont be fun with me, but I really do love walks and if you can just avoid a lot of dog passer-by's, its not so tough! 
 

When it come to making dog friends - I definitely can!  I like boys better than girls usually, and the ones that are ok with me being the boss :)  I've done great with puppies, and once I've had a proper introduction to a submissive playful friend I love to run around and play.  Since I dont like meeting dogs on a leash, between a fence or gate helps with these intros.  

 

I am pretty sure its my job to protect my family and home. I don't like new people coming in to the house or strangers coming up to my family.   It takes me a little while to be comfortable when a guest is in my house.  I can get there and make friends (remember how sweet I am?!?), it just takes a little bit of reassurance.   I’m working really hard on this and making progress every day.  

 

I’m 100% potty trained, and am very good at letting you know when I need to go out and I love to just be left out of the house while you're gone.  I don't do anything wrong :)  I’m a dog that likes structure and I definitely need someone who will act as a leader for me. I’m a dog that aims to please, I just need set rules. Oh, and I should mention that I’m super smart and know tons of commands!   I need someone patient to help me be successful in my forever home. Could that be you?